Farmers

Farmers' Museum

Explore Thanksgiving traditions of the past during a special two-day opening at The Farmers’ Museum

Press Release Contact: 

For more information or images, please contact:
Todd Kenyon, Public Relations
New York State Historical Association
Fenimore Art Museum/The Farmers’ Museum
Phone: (607) 547-1472 / E-mail: t.kenyon@nysha.org

Cooperstown, N.Y. (11/17/2009) — Discover how rural New Yorkers typically celebrated
Thanksgiving in the 1840s when The Farmers’ Museum re-opens its doors
on the Friday and Saturday following the holiday (November 27 and 28). 
Visitors will see traditional Thanksgiving Day foods prepared over the
open hearth at the Lippitt Farmhouse. Look in on the museum’s live

Press Release Category: 
Program and Event Press Releases
Publication Date: 
November 2009
Site: 

The Farmers’ Museum Offers New Five-day Admission Option

Press Release Contact: 

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. — Visitors can now expand their experience at The Farmers’ Museum by returning once, twice or even more times over the course of five days without an additional admission charge.  For the remainder of the season, through October 31st, paid visitors are invited to return to the museum free any time within five days of initial admittance.

According to the museum’s President, Stephen Elliott, “In talking with visitors, we discovered that many do not anticipate the extent of the museum’s historic village and all of the participatory activities we offer.  Guests ask to return again while still in Cooperstown and take advantage of all there is to do.”

To qualify for re-admission, visitors simply register at the ticket kiosk of The Farmers’ Museum.  Re-admission will enable visitors to continue touring the exhibitions, visit in greater depth with the craft interpreters, play the 19th-century games, enjoy the Empire State Carousel, and even milk our cow - Daisy Mae.

###

For more information or images, please contact:
Todd Kenyon, Public Relations
New York State Historical Association
Fenimore Art Museum/The Farmers’ Museum
Phone: (607) 547-1472 / E-mail: t.kenyon@nysha.org

Press Release Category: 
Recent Announcements
Publication Date: 
August 2009
Site: 

Pages