The Eugene and Clare Thaw Publication Award for Excellence in Scholarship on Native North American Art History

The Fenimore Art Museum announces the creation of the triennial Thaw Publication Award given to the author or authors of scholarly books on the subject of Native North American Art History. Entries for the 2011 prize must have been published July 2008 – July 2011. The deadline for submission is August 1, 2011.

Criteria for judging include soundness and originality of research. Scholarly works from ancient to contemporary arts will be considered. Exhibition catalogues may be submitted.  Scholars may submit their own work for consideration or colleagues and publishers may nominate work by someone they deem worthy. Such a nomination must be followed up by the submission of the four copies by the author or publisher accompanied by a letter of transmittal stating intent to be considered for the award.

Address entries to:

New York State Historical Association
The Eugene and Clare Thaw Publication Award Committee
c/o Caitlin Miosek, Publications Department
P.O. Box 800, 5798 State Highway 80
Cooperstown, N.Y 13326

Please call or email Caitlin Miosek at 607-547-1416 / if you have questions.

The Otsego Institute Board will serve as an Advisory Board for this award, and an independent subcommittee of three persons will judge the submissions and award the prize. The committee will consist of Otsego Institute Board members and other qualified persons, or a combination of the two.

The award is $10,000, paid to the author or authors, not the publisher or institution.  The 2011 award was presented at the NAASA conference in Ottawa in October 2011.